Thanks Tom (A collection of quotes from Tom Bilyeu impact videos)

Avi Charkham
6 min readJan 5, 2020

This year I took the time to personally thank the people who were important to me in 2019. It’s an incredibly simple, but at the same time rewarding, thing to do.

One of the people I couldn’t personally thank was Tom Bilyeu.

I discovered Tom’s work through one of his Impact Theory interviews, early this year, and it took me on a journey and exposed me to so many other incredible individuals and their work.

But from all his work, I wanted to, especially, thank Tom for his collection of short “Impact Quotes” videos. In those videos Tom wraps his favorite quotes with his take and together they become a powerful reminder people can lean into as they push forward to execute on their vision.

I found them especially helpful in those moments when my self-doubt and inner (constant) critic creep in and make it difficult to find my footing. They focus me, they help me find my self-compassion and be to myself the coach I’m to others.

For more videos go to https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnYMOamNKLGVlJgRUbamveA/videos

One list of powerful quotes

I wanted to have those powerful quotes in one place so I Googled “Tom Bilyeu favorite quotes” but got lists of his personal quotes not the list of the quotes he chose to create his videos around. So I curated the list for myself (and at least a couple of friends of mine I know love Tom’s work 😊).

(*I relied on Youtube transcript and did my best to clean the auto transcript mess)

Mary Anne Radmacher:
Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying “I will try again tomorrow”

Harun Yahya:
I always wonder why birds choose to stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth, then I ask myself the same question.

Mark Twain:
The secret of getting ahead is getting started.

20 years from now you’ll be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do.

Gandhi:
Strength does not come from physical capacity it comes from an indomitable will.

Buckminster Fuller:
There’s nothing in a caterpillar that tells you that it’s going to be a butterfly.

Ralph Waldo Emerson:
Shallow people believe in luck and in circumstance; Strong people believe in cause and effect.

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

General Douglas MacArthur:
You’re remembered for the rules you break.

John Wooden:
Never let what you cannot do interfere with what you can.

Nelson Mandela:
Education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world.

Michelangelo:
If people knew how hard I work to achieve my mastery it wouldn’t seem so wonderful after all.

Florence Nightingale:
I attribute my success to this: I never gave or took any excuse.

Rumi:
As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears.

Mary Shelley:
The beginning is always today.

Robert Louis Stevenson:
Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but rather by the seeds you plant.

Muhammad Ali:
Only a man who knows what it’s like to be defeated can reach down to the bottom of his soul and come up with the extra ounce of power it takes to win when the match is even.

Malcolm X:
The future belongs to those who prepare for it today.

Martin Luther King:
If you can’t fly then run. If you can’t run then walk. If you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.

Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.

J.B.S Haldane:
The world shall perish not for a lack of wonders but for a lack of wonder.

Joseph Campbell:
People say what we’re all seeking is a meaningful life but I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking I think what we’re seeking is the experience of truly being alive.

Life is a wonderful wonderful opera except that it hurts.

Find a place inside where there’s joy and the joy will burn out the pain.

CS Lewis:
hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny.

David Livingstone:
I’ll go anywhere provided it be forward.

Epictetus:
One cannot learn what they think they already know.

Socrates:
The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.

Tim Grover:
The only difference between feedback and criticism is how you hear it.

Winston Churchill:
Criticism may not be agreeable but it’s necessary.

Tony Robbins:
The purpose of pain is to move us into action it’s not to make us suffer.

Hannibal:
I will either find a way, or make one

Albert Einstein:
Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason, mastery demands all of a person.

The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking.

Bruce Lee:
Knowledge will give you power but character will give you respect.

If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.

Walt Disney:
If you can dream it you can do it.

You may not realize that when it happens but it kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you.

Ferdinand Foch:
The most powerful weapon on earth is the human soul on fire.

Steve Martin:
Perseverance is a great substitute for talent.

Robert Horry:
pressure can bust pipes but it can also make diamonds.

Thomas Edison:
Our greatest weakness lies in giving up the most certain way to succeed is to always try one more time.

Aristotle:
Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.

It is during our darkest moments that we must focus to see light.

Joe Namath:
If you aren’t going all the way why go at all?

Ernest Hemingway:
The world breaks everyone and afterward many are stronger in the broken places.

William Arthur Ward:
The pessimist complains about the wind the optimist expects it to change the realist adjusts the sails.

Sylvester Stallone:
I’m not the richest smartest or most talented person in the world but I succeed because I keep going and going.

Alice Walker:
The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.

Conor McGregor:
There’s no talent here. This is hard work. This is an obsession.

Henri Cartier Bresson:
Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst.

Anna Quindlen:
The thing that is really hard and really amazing is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.

Dr. Michio Kaku:
All great ideas come from a picture.

Napoleon Hill:
Strength and growth come only through continuous effort and struggle.

First comes thought; then organization of that thought, into ideas and plans; then transformation of those plans into reality. The beginning, as you will observe, is in your imagination.

Steve Maraboli:
Incredible change happens in your life when you decide to take control of what you do have power over instead of craving control over what you don’t.

Earl Nightingale:
become what we think about.

Stephen Hawking:
When you complain nobody wants to help you.

The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance it’s the illusion of knowledge.

Daniel ping:
People fail to achieve mastery not because they aren’t talented but because they aren’t disciplined.

--

--